Hi, I am new here ; my first experience in a twitter chat

This week in ECMP355 all students were encouraged to participate in a twitter chat. Initially my first thoughts were: “what is twitter chat”, “is it hard, so I will be talking to people whom I’ve never met and don’t know of?”. I was a bit intimated, to say the least. However once I started I realized just how simple it is to participate, and how happy other participants are, that i was participating as well!

So first comes first, I set up my tweet deck. Id never used tweet deck before so it was interesting to see how it works. this is what my tweet deck looked like:

@mollybasnicki Tweet Deck
@mollybasnicki Tweet Deck

I found Tweet deck to be super useful. It made it simple for me to follow a hash-tag, tweet, and view any notifications all on one screen.

#FLIPCLASS

I decided to take part in the #flipclass chat. To be honest, I had no idea what i was participating in until, a fellow tweetter tweeted an article that filled me in. I quickly skimmed the article, like the true university student I am, running from one class to the next. I what I found in the article was really interesting. Flipping the class around was a new concept to me.

I was pleasantly surprised with the amount of interaction I was included in by other #flipclass followers.Within minutes I had three replies to my introduction tweet. To network and communicate with teacher from all over the world with experience in different backgrounds is nothing but beneficial.

 

Overall my first experience, although I really had no clue what I was doing, was great! I will for sure be participating in many more twitter chats to come.It was a great way to get my name out there, to network, and to learn about current issues in the ed world.  I highly recommend teachers, and feature teachers to participate in twitter chats.

 

Do you have  suggestions for chats to follow? please comment below!

L e a v e a C o m m e n t

