Media Smarts promotes “Art smarts”

This week for ECMP 355 I looked at and browsed media smarts. As soon as I logged the first thing I hopped to was the what we dopage.  With all the new programs and technology out there, its easy to get overwhelmed and confused when considering incorporating media and technology in the classroom. By learning and researching each tool or program I use, it helps me to get a better idea of how and why to use it as become a teacher.

The second things I did as I was visiting this site is look at the teacher resources. This is where I found the media literacy 101. It seemed like a good overview and general idea of what media is and how it surrounds us in our everyday life. Here is a quick video I found on the media literacy 101 page:

Although I  am quite comfortable and somewhat knowledgeable in what media is, I think it nice to have a  quick overview and  recap some important definitions. Some may see this as a waste of time but I wanted to get a thorough  lesson of what Media Smarts is all about and how it could help me as a teacher.

Now that I gave myself a little background lesson, I decided to check out something that is most applicable to what I will actually be teaching one day. I browsed the digital and media literacy outcomes by province and territory. From there I was super excited to find Arts Education category under the Saskatchewan media in education . By surfing through sub categories I discovered a whole list / chart categorized by the curriculum that would be helpful in the classroom. Finding a  way to incorporate technology and media into art really excites me (if you can’t already tell)!

In that list I found everything from comic book character making to food styling. I thought that was really cool that all media can be used to teach how art an important (but often overlooked) part of almost everything we as society  take part in, especially media! These examples also show critical/ responsive art lessons that can be given incorporating media ( in the form of lesson kits). The kits and examples are definitely something I would use in the art classroom to teach how to think critically about the art that we see in media of day-to-day life.

Here are some parts of the curriculum that I found relate to some of the examples given in the chart/list mentioned above. The chart I found on Media Smarts already categorizes the list like this, but I thought I’d just show you specific aspects of the arts education curriculum that apply. (these are taken from, but not limited to the grade 9 curriculum)

Creative/ productive (CP)
Express perspectives and raise awareness about a topic of concern to youth in a collective creation.
Create visual art works to express perspectives and raise awareness about a topic of concern to youth.
Select and use appropriate forms, technologies, images, and art-making processes to convey ideas about a topic of concern to youth.
Critical/ responsive (CR)
Investigate and identify ways that today’s arts expressions can inspire change.
Investigate and identify how arts expressions can challenge thinking about values, ideas, and beliefs.
 consider these questions:
 
How would you use Media Smart in your classroom? How would you use it in art lessons? let me know!
L e a v e a C o m m e n t

