The Lost Art Of Hand Lettering … AKA Hipster Handwriting

This is the start of my major project for my ecmp 355 class. As a student I was given 2 choices for a project. I chose to learn something I’ve always wanted to learn and to use technology / social media / apps to help me learn. So, with that being said, I will introduce the subject I decided to learn …

HAND LETTERING! Hand lettering is basically the art if drawing letters. Hand writing letters is somewhat of a lost art these days, with all the technology and programs people can use to create beautiful looking letters people have kind of lost touch with the hand crafting aspect of it.

Here is a  video that I found that can give some more insight into the art of hand letter, it is also a great tutorial that I will be using for reference.

This is week one of my project, I started by gathering supplies and simply trying my hand at lettering,  just to get a feel for it. My goal with this project is so come up with some intriguing pieces that look professional, and hopefully flawless. I am always so amazed my people who can create lettering that looks like it is fresh from the printer with their own hands, and it would be cool if I could pull that off!

This is the mechanical lead holder that I bought to help me get a nice clean and precise sketch of the letters
This is the mechanical lead holder that I bought to help me get a nice clean and precise sketch of the letters
Just a few markers ranging in size and shape and even colour. I bought some new markers and I also gathered a few that I've used for outlining drawings.
Just a few markers ranging in size and shape and even colour. I bought some new markers and I also gathered a few that I’ve used for outlining drawings.
These are the tools I have purchased and gathered so far; I have a drawings board, a couple of sheets of card -stock paper, a sketch book , pens, pencils, markers, labelling stickers for smaller pieces that I might create, and  ruler.
These are the tools I have purchased and gathered so far; I have a drawings board, a couple of sheets of card -stock paper, a sketch book , pens, pencils, markers, labelling stickers for smaller pieces that I might create, and ruler.
2 thoughts on “The Lost Art Of Hand Lettering … AKA Hipster Handwriting

L e a v e a C o m m e n t

